top of page

Stepping Stones

I imagine a floating staircase, leading up to God. It is made up of stepping-stones, too many to count. I’m standing on one stone, there are many before me, and many behind. I am aware. I know where I am, and where I’ve been. I am comfortable standing on this stone, not moving anywhere. I am perfectly content with the stillness. God breathes wind onto me and the stone begins to shake underneath my feet. I am suddenly uncomfortable in this place I am standing. I must accept that where I am on this stone does not suit me any longer. I must embrace the need for change. As I experience awareness and acceptance of where I am, God awaits my next action.


With the ground still shaking He asks me to climb the next step toward Him. Though it is scary to leave the ground I am on and I do not know what the next step will be like, God knows, and He invites me to trust Him. He invites me to leave this unsteady, uncomfortable, unmanageable stumbling block behind.

As soon as I make the decision to move toward Him, I see a hand. It is God’s hand and it reaches out gently and steadily. I grab it, and together God and I move from a stumbling block to a stepping-stone. As I place both feet firmly down I notice this stone is perfectly still. It is peaceful and I feel at rest. I turn around and I see the place I was standing before. It is moving rapidly. I look beyond it and I can see all the other stones I have traveled along. They are all shaking now, all but the one I am resting on. I know that I cannot travel on those stones again, so I turn back around. I can no longer see God’s hand, but I can feel His love. I am filled with gratitude. I thank God for the shaky ground behind me, that has lead me to this moment of stillness with Him.


For a brief moment I become unsettled, wondering when the stone I am standing on will begin to shake like the others. God brings me back from my anxiety to His peace with these words, “My child, do not fret. Your past trials are no measure for what blessings I have in store for you. Right now, in this moment, you are exactly where I desire you to be. You are here with me.”

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Martha, Martha

While reading the gospel this morning, I felt the Lord speak directly to my heart. I wanted to share my favorite moments from today's Word: Luke 10: 38-42 “Now as they went on their way, Jesus entered

Don't Take a Girl's Holy Card Away

This past week our one-year-old baby had surgery. The day was a long and emotional one for sure, but I wanted to share here about a special "God moment" from that day. It came right from our little Be

Remain in Me

This morning I did it! I got up early and read the gospel before the kids woke up. To my knowledge there is still not a formal motherhood award being given for this kind of achievement. That’s ok, it

bottom of page